Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

I just added this article to my blog. If you're extremely fearful of cruise vacations, it won't change your mind about going on a ship, and that's not my intent. But some of you may have some slight reservations about cruising and I wanted to set the record straight.

fearsandphobias.blogspot.com

Traveling With Emetophobia - Cruise Ships

The thought of traveling is tremendously stressful for emetophobes. Many factors contribute to this anxiety. First, the mode of transportation and the small but existing chance of getting motion sickness. And what about cruise ships? Doesn’t everyone get sick from the stomach virus on those massive floating resorts? Well, no.

Lucky for me, I’ve been traveling way before I became emetophobic. Additionally, I work in the travel and tourism industry which would be awkward for me if I stayed home on vacations. Traveling is enjoyable to me and it has taken me to places all over the world including undeveloped countries. Even though I’ve always had the fear of vomiting, it never controlled my life nor did I really think about it constantly, especially when traveling. So now, I’m so used to traveling, that emetophobia won’t stop me. Instead, I take a few more precautions than the average person. And by the way, I have never, ever gotten sick where vomiting is involved while traveling *Knocks on wood*. This blog entry will focus primarily on traveling by cruise ship.

I have been on over 20 cruises and never contracted a stomach virus nor have I been seasick. Those brand new mega-ships run smoothly and ships use stablilzers to further reduce swaying. Unless the ship is sailing in rough water or a storm may have passed by, very few people get seasick. And guess what? There are ways to prevent seasickness, medical and non-medical.