Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

This is my first time posting here, and I am also like kellygirl. I fear others being sick more than I do myself. I fear myself being sick, for fear I may make others sick. I am also currently in counseling, as my phobia of others being sick has exploded since having my second child 2 years ago. My therapist & I are currently working on gradual desensitization and it is really hard, but I know it is for a good reason. She states that you need to experience your anxieties and fears head on in order to overcome them. She said that if you avoid the feelings and fears and distract yourself from them, then you are doing yourself a great injustice. It is very difficult and has even caused my anxiety to become worse at the time. I am trying to do what she says, even though it is VERY DIFFICULT. When I have panick attacks, I fear, the worst (we all know they make you nauseous). I fear, I will make my family sick, but she said I need to think, (so what if it is, I will have to deal) She said I need to imagine it is that and deal with the feelings of anxiety and overcome them. She said you need to feel the anxiety to conquer it. Sure hope she's right, cause it sucks. I'm not sure if she is correct, but I'm trying it. I have only been in therapy for 4 weeks, so I am by no means an expert. I am determined to overcome this phobia/OCD thing for my kids and my family. I am willing to do whatever it takes to beat it. I am tired of it controlling my life and I want to control it and have my oold life back. I have always had this phobia, but not to this degree. I work at a grade school and this winter has been h*** with illnesses going around. Sick kids everywhere. I keep telling myself, I really do not have anything to fear. I know this logically, just wish I knew it subconsciously.

Hi and welcome!